This just in from Colorado space control stars Woodsman

First: a story.

I tripped over a power cable at the UP Ranch in Texas (yes, everything happened there.) The person who caught my arm and said “Hey that wasn’t my fault,” was a member of Woodsman. He had long blond hair and a gentle voice. We talked for awhile… but I can’t remember what about. Probably…. music?

Two days later Woodsman played the Mexican Summer/Gorilla Vs. Bear Showcase. They were loud and so intensely inspired, I was literally shocked. “This was the gentle voiced gentleman who caught me before I fell?,” I thought to myself. Hmmmm.

Woodsman is from Denver, Colorado. The blonde haired man told me that Denver gets more days of sunshine than any other place in the U.S., that I remember. We decided that was likely because of the city’s elevation. Perhaps this is why the blonde haired stoner boy looked like a surfer, but made music that sounded like it came from deep in the middle of the Earth. Colorado is landlocked.

Woodsman has an album coming out on Lefse on June 1.

“When the Morning Comes” is a sample from that album to get you ready. No, this is not a take on the jolly Grateful Dead song with a similar name. It couldn’t be farther from that song sonically. Mystically, they could be cousins.

Beautiful Woodsman videos….

Check them out on tour. Highly suggested. Playing June 18 somewhere in NYC, and June 19 at 87 Guernsey St., which is the Mexican Summer store.

Woodsman: When the Morning Comes