Hole was fucking on fire at SXSW. When I found out that Jenn Pelly, (thanks girl you are literally the coolest ice cube in the freezer), had an extra badge to the Spin party at Stubb’s I almost peed my pants. And then I heard Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings were opening. And then I sneaked in and gave my badge to my friend. And drinks were free. Wheeeee!

I was unsure what to expect from Love, a longtime idol of mine, and also someone i’ve both chided and loved. She’s a tabloid star, presumably a bad mom, blah blah. But OH MAN can she perform.

She made her way through basically all new songs, a Rolling Stones cover, “Miss World” and “Violet” off of 1995’s Live Through This and a few in between’s. She fuckign tore it apart. Her voice sounded as good (ie powerful and raspy) as ever, and she said all kinds of blasphemous stuff.

Basically she exhibited that raw female power that excited so many of us in our teens. She chewed on the power and spit it out all over everybody. I could hardly contain myself.

Some pics by Sojin Oh.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “courtneylove tag“, posted with vodpod