When I first set eyes on Ryan William Lynch I knew he was a California boy. I mean- his style was just so West Coast. The long sleek hair, denim rolled up and totally not skinny jean style, a striped button down shirt tucked in and Beatles boots. It was almost over kill but I liked his completely bold and inspired attitude. It was his first show with Girls, and we were in New Jersey at the country’s greatest rock club, Maxwell’s.

He’s a jangly rhythm guitarist. And he does that same thing in his own band, San Francisco’s Dominant Legs. But these songs are more outright 80s pop- with synthesizers. Very nice and pretty “put your feet up” kind of tunes. Thanks to my main Massachusetts and sports fan man, Friendship Bracelet for reminding me of Dominant Legs.

Dominant Legs: Young at Love and Life