Pic by Lauren Bilanko

Pic by Lauren Bilanko

I’ll never forget the first time I saw Lightning Bolt. I was at a hometown show- in Providence- visiting my friend Joe. He’s a Rhode Islander by birth and introduced me to the band while we were still in college. Let’s just say I’d never heard anything like that before. We took acid and were like “woah!” Anyway we went to the show, we were out of college. The room was hot as hell- and dark and smelly. I couldn’t believe the devotion of the fans. I mean, I was dripping, with other people’s sweat! It was so nasty and yet I didn’t care. The band was so ferocious I had to put my own issues aside. Anyway the LB have a new album coming out soon and they are now super popular. The last show I went to was in Brooklyn and there were probably 10 times as many people at that show. It is NYC though- wayyy more people live here than in Providence. Anyway, here’s “Flooded Chamber” off the upcoming album, “Earthly Delights,” out tomorrow. Props to The Fader for posting.

Lightning Bolt: Flooded Chamber