Photo by Andrew Cedermark

Photo by Andrew Cedermark

I first saw Real Estate open for Wavves back in March at the Mercury Lounge. Maybe it was because I was in the mood for the crazy assault of Wavves, maybe I was tired, not sure. Whatever it was I thought Real Estate were kind of droopy, a little poppy, but mostly boring. Boy have I changed my mind…

I just heard the track “Beach Comber” off Real Estate’s upcoming Woodsist release. It is so soothing. And the melody shines like sun on turning leaves. What I really like about Real Estate is their apparent lack of fear of being pretty. At a time when so many bands are overly concerned with danceable beats, or swagger even, Real Estate sounds like a more subtle Modest Mouse. That’s not blasphemy. Thanks to MBV for this.

Also, the band is playing a lot of upcoming shows…some with Japandroids, some with Vivian Girls, some with Girls. Go gaga people.

Real Estate: Beach Comber

Real Estate: Beach Comber