Did people see this? First of all, it’s odd that Sean is replicating this pic. Was it his idea or Terry Richardson’s?? My guess is Terry. But how did he get Sean to go with it? What’s interesting is the gender reversal here. Is Sean more shy than his father? In the classic Lennon/Ono pic, I always saw the male nude and the female clothed as a symbol of resistance against the marginalization of women. Now, in this pic, the woman is totally naked, and she doesn’t seem to be the clothed person’s equal. She is a model and Lennon’s girlfriend, Kemp Muhl. Have we regressed as a society?? See both, below.

UPDATE: response from Lennon:

“I thought controversial photos were other things than that. It seems that people are a little bit uptight these days, I guess. I thought that it was not a big deal…asically what happened was, we were in bed. We kind of thought that it would be funny if she just rolled over and did that shot. It was not set up at all. I didn’t want them to put it out necessarily. It wasn’t this like, “Oh, let’s do this shot!” It wasn’t set up. And then they just put it out. It was just a snapshot and I really didn’t think anyone would care. I didn’t even remember it until I started getting this vehement hate mail.”

Pic by Terry Richardson

Pic by Terry Richardson

Pic by Annie Leibovitz

Pic by Annie Leibovitz