Not from last night, pic by melita_dennett on Flickr

Not from last night, pic by melita_dennett on Flickr

Seriously, last night’s show at Death by Audio was ridiculous. It was, literally, at least 110 degrees in there. And it was sold out, jam packed and sticky. But the sound was good, and people were really into it. We got there in time for a few Real Estate songs and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The hype they’ve been receiving, I thought, was unworthy. I saw them open for Wavves at the Mercury Lounge in the spring and was unimpressed and i’ve listened to their music at home and was also unimpressed. But last night they were really on it. Lush melodies and extended pop psychedelic guitar swirls were in full effect. There’s not much singing in Real Estate, at least not in their live show, and that was good. It gave their songs an ethereal feel.

I couldn’t stay there for longer than 30 minutes. I know that sounds lame but I really couldn’t do it. I would have hung outside and listened but Todd P was policing that sidewalk like mad. “Up the block, down the street!,” he chanted. Fair enough, I understand.