Pic by by jamesburger, 2007. (Yes there were fireworks!)

Pic by by jamesburger, 2007. (Yes there were fireworks!)

Last night in Prospect Park i finally felt like an adult. Classical music, wine and cheese and cherries and my boyfriend on a blanket. It was a truly New York experience and it made me wonder about the differences between rock and roll music and classical music. Why is it that most people stop enjoying popular music, dance music, rock music, when they get older? Is it as simple as the fact that classical music is calmer, and you’re usually sitting down for it? Is it that drugs and alcohol are so closely associated with rock, etc.? I can enjoy both, but it’s like my mind splits. One part of me is present when i’m at the Market Hotel hearing noise, and a completely different part of me is present when i’m hearing the glorious swirl of violins and violas. Here’s the question: can they be mixed? Can both my parts come together?

There are only two rock bands I can think of that have incorporated a classical (stringed) instrument: Out Hud (with Molly Schnick on cello) and That Dog (with Petra Haden on violin). Both bands were favorites of mine and both bands are now broken up. There’s also the Dave Matthews Band….I’m not going to go there.

Others? What bands have incorporated a stringed instrument and well? Is it possible?