July 31, 2003 Carrboro, NC

July 31, 2003 Carrboro, NC

“I’m a thoughtless beast, afraid of everything.”

When I first put on the b-side to what was once just a European released 7-inch single for “The Execution of All Things,” I was fully stunned. I think my breath may have even stopped. This song is raw emotion. The way the guitar jingles along and gets aggressive. The held-out keyboard notes that seem to grow with sound. Jenny Lewis’ desperate and drawly voice….. I haven’t heard such beautiful desperation since.

Listen close for “You’re so alive!”

The middle of the song features just a guitar line, a light drum beat, and Jenny begging you. And then the epic build-up that was once to crucial to Rilo Kiley. And my life. Where is the build-up now??

Rilo Kiley: Emotional (Until Crickets Guide You Back)

click the above link

Rilo Kiley: Emotional (Until Crickets Guide You Back)