Foto by Christian Lantry

Foto by Christian Lantry

“i don’t see anyone
tying you down
there are no chains
no chains
so what’s keeping you around?”

This song by Superchunk sounds exactly like my 13-year-old self. Whiny and rambunctious. And pissed off. And in love with overalls, Doc Martens and red hair dye.

I’ve realized there are different kinds of Throwback Tracks. There are those that are throwbacks to the past, like the real past, a long time ago. Examples: Neil Young, Gram Parsons, Bo Diddley. Then there are throwbacks to my childhood or teenage and college years. Examples: Lemonheads, Blake Babies, Superchunk. They’re different but I love them all!

Superchunk really have the 90s sound down so hard. And this song is the perfect example of the hard-hitting symbols, guitar soloing and disaffected happiness that so populated the indie songs of the day.

“How can I live when I got it all???” Good question Mac! (There’s a chance those aren’t the lyrics…)

AWESOME VIDEO “Detroit Has a Skyline”

Check out how Laura Ballance still pogo’s!

Superchunk: Down the Hall

click the above link

Superchunk: Down the Hall