blown

I saw Easy Rider at the Film Forum on Friday night and the movie was just as dark and unnerving and beautiful and idyllic as I remembered.

Most of the songs in the movie i’m very familiar with and I have my own stories and memories attached to them. So even when a song is edited with images, thus creating another story line, I often have difficulty hearing the song without my own head mixed in. That was not the case with “Wasn’t Born To Follow,” a Byrds song that I recognized instantly but that I hadn’t listened to purposefully hundreds of times. And, understandably, when that song played I enjoyed the film more. Or, at least differently that when “The Weight” came on.

“Wasn’t Born to Follow” is short and upbeat and full of all the yearning for nature and independence that made these folk-hippie songs out of California so potent.

Oh I’d rather go and journey where the diamond crest is flowing and
Run across the valley beneath the sacred mountain and
Wander through the forest
Where the trees have leaves of prisms and break the light in colours
That no one knows the names of

Watch the scene and get the song below.

The Byrds: “Wasn’t Born to Follow

Click on the link above.

The Byrds: “Wasn’t Born to Follow