Being from Connecticut, when I first heard the buzz about some band from New London I was tickled. Of course, there are some bands from New London that are great. The Quiet Life, for example. But the noise surrounding the Condo Fucks is LOUD.

2371454858_55a621529f

The band just released a live rehearsal album called “Fuckbook.” Lovely. The music is pure and simple garage with a country-rock age.

Turns out the Condo Fucks are actually Yo La Tengo playing a bunch of covers under a mysterious moniker. What kind of bizarre move is this? An interview in the Hartford Courant by the great Chris Arnott sheds some light. (I’m pretty sure I took that photo on his page when I was a reporter at The New Haven Independent, what no credit?!)

Without the background though, I think the music of The Condo Fucks would pass under the radar. What do you think? Stream a couple of songs over at Aquarium Drunkard.